My review of The Unlikely Wife by Debra Ullrick! Fantastic story!


About the book:

The arrival of Michael Bowen’s bride, married sight unseen by proxy, sends the rancher reeling. With her trousers, cowboy hat and rifle, she looks like a female outlaw—not the genteel lady he corresponded with for months. He’s been hoodwinked into marriage with the wrong woman!

Selina Farleigh Bowen loved Michael’s letters, even if she couldn’t read them herself. A friend read them to her, and wrote her replies—but apparently that “friend” left things out, like Michael’s dream of a wife who was nothing like her. Selina won’t change who she is, not even for the man she loves. Yet time might show Michael the true value of his unlikely wife.

My review:

Well, I’ve found my first “favorite” book for 2012! This story was fantastic! It warmed my heart and thrilled that emotional part of me that enjoys a smoking romance. I love mail-order-bride types of stories anyway, but this one was better than most. There were so many heart-warming moments that I lost count. There were also great references to the scriptures and to what marriage should be like. I felt inspiration for my own marriage, and that doesn’t happen with Love Inspired novels (sorry, but it’s true.) I tend to love historical fiction, but not LI fiction, yet this story made me want to read more in this genre. In fact, I think this is my favorite LI novel ever. The plot and pacing were excellent, the story was full of great tension and believable emotion, and the hero and heroine shared the yummiest kisses I’ve ever read in a LI book. My heart melted every time they kissed. I felt the love and was inspired by it. Seriously!

Bottom line…Debra Ullrick outdid herself on this one. And I loved the fact that I also got to see Rainee and Haydon again from the first book, The Unexpected Bride. I enjoyed that story, too, but I absolutely adored this one. Selena was the most unique and lovable heroine that I’ve read in a long time. I fell in love with Michael as he fell in love with Selena. I really can’t believe how good this book was… but then again, I can. Debra is a talented writer and this story should be on everyone’s must-read list for 2012. If you love heart-warming historical romances that contain strong spiritual threads and great romantic tension (and if you don’t mind shedding a tear or two, or three or four) then you’ll love this book. I guarantee it!

The Unlikely Wife was published by Love Inspired and was released in January 2012.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

